Book Avis hire cars in Brooklyn

Brooklyn, NY, United States
4 Oct — 11 Oct
Brooklyn, NY, United States
Mon 4-10
Noon
Mon 11-10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Brooklyn

Overall rating6.8 GoodBased on 43 reviews
Cleanliness
7.4
Comfort
7.3
Overall
6.6
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.7
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
5
6
5
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Hassle free drop offPros:We have dropped cars off here before and have always found the staff very friendly. We have never felt that they are trying to find something wrong with the car to get extra money, something we have experienced with other car hire companies.Reviewed 24 Sep 2016
review fromkayak
9.2
Stress FreePros:Good location and a no hassle pick up and drop offReviewed 20 Oct 2015
review fromkayak
5.6
Cons:The price has suddenly doubled, days after the rental, with no explanation whatsoeverReviewed 22 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:YesCons:PriceReviewed 10 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Clean, safe, no wait timeReviewed 4 Oct 2020
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Very easy pickup and dropoff. Not very crowded and the staff worked quickly and efficiently.Cons:I can’t think of anything!Reviewed 9 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Jeremy was fantastic. He retrieved my car and helped orient me to it. Very friendly and professional.Reviewed 28 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Wholesome experience! All in all great!Reviewed 7 Jun 2020
review fromkayak
6.0
Pros:The car was clean and fine, the process of booking was relatively smooth.Cons:At pick-up, the woman behind the Avis counter told me she had 4 mini vans left in her fleet so i had no choice but to go with a mini van, even though I had specifically reserved a small car. After the agents brought my car from the garage, i noticed that the couple behind me got a large SUV. How was it possible they chose an SUV if all was left were minivans?? When the woman walked by as I was adjusting my seat, I asked her why this happened. She sort of stammered and said there were 3 mini vans left, and one large SUV. When I reminded her that she told me there were only 4 minivans left and that i specifically had no other choice, she stammered again that someone had specifically reserved a large SUV. This made no sense though, since I also reserved a car other than a minivan. I think I was justified in being irritated by this -- she had in essence lied to me about what was available. Another issue I encountered -- when signing up for the car, the woman told me that the vehicle had Bluetooth capabilities. When I got the car, there clearly was no bluetooth capability, and if there was, i wasn't able to locate it on the console even with her help. These issues combined really soured the start to my trip. I think it was wrong and discriminatory of the woman to decide that the couple behind me should somehow get an SUV after she misrepresented the facts to me so explicitly just a minute before. I appreciate if Kayak could pass this along to Avis.Reviewed 17 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:The attendant who showed people to their cars was not very friendly.Cons:A positive and friendly attitude from the parking lot attendant would have been nice.Reviewed 15 Oct 2020
review fromkayak
3.6
This Avis location is a disasterPros:The manager was nice and helpfulCons:1. They didn't have a car for us when we arrived, nor did they call to tell us they wouldn't have a car so that we could have tried to find something else. 2. The employee behind the counter was extremely rude and said "first come, first serve", then stopped responding to any questions. 2. They eventually found another car nearby but this was a minivan (we wanted a compact) and had a Florida only toll pass for some reason, so we had to stop at every toll booth and pay cash. 3. They give you a card to get the car out of the parking garage without paying, but the card they gave us didn't work so we had to pay cash for that. When we asked for reimbursement at the end of the rental they begrudgingly did so but said we should have come back to the rental office for a new one. 4. When we returned the car their equipment at the point of drop off wasn't working so we had to go to the office to complete the drop off.Reviewed 6 May 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:I walked 1.5 hours to the Avis only to find out that they had no cars available. There was no prior communication from Avis or Kayak that they had no cars and I have been unable to get my insurance money back.Reviewed 30 Mar 2020
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Brooklyn?

210 State Street, Avis car hires

Address

210 State Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday07:00 - 21:00
Thursday07:00 - 21:00
Friday07:00 - 21:00
Saturday07:00 - 21:00
Sunday07:00 - 21:00

Phone

+1 718 858 4395

Address

325 Kent Avenue

Hours

Monday07:00 - 21:00
Tuesday07:00 - 21:00
Wednesday07:00 - 21:00
Thursday07:00 - 21:00
Friday07:00 - 21:00
Saturday07:00 - 21:00
Sunday07:00 - 21:00

Phone

+1 347 894 3688

Good to know

Most popular location

210 State Street

Most popular car type

Compact

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Brooklyn

  • Compact car hires from Avis in Brooklyn are around 62% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Brooklyn

  • Compact (Ford Focus or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Brooklyn.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Brooklyn. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes