Book Avis hire cars in Jersey City

Jersey City, NJ, United States
26 Sep — 3 Oct
Jersey City, NJ, United States
Sun 26-9
Noon
Sun 3-10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Jersey City

Overall rating5.5 OkayBased on 46 reviews
Cleanliness
5.4
Comfort
5.8
Overall
5.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.2
Value for money
5.2

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
6
3
7
5
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Pros:Evening goes smoothly. Good staffs.Cons:Nothing much to saying.Reviewed 10 Dec 2020
review fromkayak
4.4
Pros:Nothing really.Cons:Pickup and drop off sucked. There was only one agent at the counter. There were like 10-12 people in the line. I had to wait for almost 2 and half hours to pickup the vehicle. The agent was a little slow. Avis could put one more person at the counter. Even the car drop off took over 30 mins. To drop off the vehicle I was in line for over 30 mins.i think Avis could afford to out one more agent to work at the counter.Reviewed 23 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was super friendly and the car I received was great.Cons:They should allow drop off outside the business hours.Reviewed 10 Nov 2020
review fromkayak
5.6
Cons:The pickup and drop off process was rather disorganized.Reviewed 15 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:No car was available! Over 20 people in the same position... the online inventory was incorrectCons:A car would have been niceReviewed 29 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Pros:Nothing absolutely nothing, i got the car for one day and they charged me for three days. still trying to resolve the issue with the bank. my charge was supposed to be 123USD instead i got charged 402USDCons:EVerything!!!!!Reviewed 13 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
7.2
Pros:Convenient location.Cons:Car interior did not look like it had been cleaned.Reviewed 21 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
3.2
Pros:The staff was awful. They did not give me any instructions when I picked up the car or inform me I needed to bring the parking ticket when dropping off the car or that I needed to record the mileage. They also told me there would be an ezpass and there was no ezpass in the car. Then it took one entire hour waiting in line at the Avis desk to return the car.Cons:Everything could have been better. This is the worst rental experience I have ever had.Reviewed 2 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff who brought the car to me was really nice, the female at the counter a little ornery but with my kindness she warmed up. Rental experience overall was excellent. Ford Escape extremely comfortable. Process quick.Reviewed 17 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Great car.Cons:Pick-up location was disorganized. Drop-off closed 1hr sooner than listed online. Incorrectly charged several additional fees.Reviewed 1 Jun 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
AwfulCons:There were no cars available when I arrived for my 3:00 pm reservation. I was told I could be put on a waiting list and "sorry for the inconvenience". This is unacceptable. They didn't help me find another car. I had to call another company. Never again!Reviewed 1 May 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
Avoid this Avis!!!Pros:We had a reservation, but for the secon time in a row, we had to wait for over an hour for a car as thy were waitin for cars to be delivered from Newark Airport. The cars did not arrive so they offered us a car with a dent in it. It was fine and wish they offered us this car when we arrived instead of waiting for one hour. We then could not get out of the parkimg Gatorade due to faulty card reader which they did not tell us about. And we had to ask for a price discount which they initially said no to, but then gave us $10 off. Thus Avis really needs to think about its customer service We ended up very late to my grandmothers birthday party. Shame in you Avis!Reviewed 27 Mar 2016
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Jersey City?

30 Mall Drive West, Avis car hires

Address

30 Mall Drive West

Hours

Monday07:30 - 19:00
Tuesday07:30 - 19:00
Wednesday07:30 - 19:00
Thursday07:30 - 19:00
Friday07:30 - 19:00
Saturday07:30 - 19:00
Sunday08:00 - 18:00

Phone

+1 201 217 8209

Address

129 Montgomery St

Hours

Monday07:30 - 19:00
Tuesday07:30 - 19:00
Wednesday07:30 - 19:00
Thursday07:30 - 19:00
Friday07:30 - 19:00
Saturday08:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 201 427 7232

Good to know

Most popular location

30 Mall Drive West

Most popular car type

Economy

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in Jersey City

  • Economy car hires from Avis in Jersey City are around 8% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Jersey City

  • Economy (Hyundai Accent or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Jersey City.

  • Avis has 2 car hire locations in Jersey City. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes

  • Yes