Book Avis hire cars in Philadelphia

Philadelphia, PA, United States
26 Sep — 3 Oct
Philadelphia, PA, United States
Sun 26-9
Noon
Sun 3-10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Philadelphia

Overall rating6.0 GoodBased on 60 reviews
Cleanliness
6.2
Comfort
6.7
Overall
5.9
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.6
Value for money
5.7

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
10
4
5
6
0
Find reviews that mention:
10.0
Pros:The agent I met with when picking up the car was helpful, friendly and knowledgeable. She was very nice! Kudos!Reviewed 16 Dec 2020
review fromkayak
2.8
Pros:Nothing.Cons:Arrived at Avis at the PHL airport and the line was out the door into the parking lot. Avis was running out of cars because they clearly were OVER overbooked. After 30 minutes of waiting in the parking lot, a worker came out to tell anyone who booked a reservation after 12 noon on 6/27 would not get a vehicle and their reservation would not be honored (even if you already pre-paid). Thankfully, I booked my vehicle prior to 12noon. Despite customers leaving after hearing the news, I waited in line for over an hour to get my rental. There were five (5) employees working, only 1 and sometimes 2 of them who actually took care of any customers. I’ll never return to Avis again.Reviewed 29 Jun 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Cons:Check in took forever lost my wizard check in had to stand in line no ac and only one person working and they wanted to sell every customer anything they could again taking foreverReviewed 10 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Pickup confusionPros:The car was as advertised. Clean but high miles.Cons:Kayak booked me a car in Philly. When I got the reservation reminder it was for pickup at the convention center not the airport. When we move the reservation the cost was almost twice what we had booked the original reservation before. It would be great if Kayak could have a more prominent alert when renting cars not from the airport locations. Avis' checkin process was also very poor. I had to wait in line for over 20 minutes while other customers checked out. No automated kiosk. Eventhough I had prepaid for everything it took almost 5 minutes to check me out once I got in front of a CSR.Reviewed 18 Jul 2016
review fromkayak
8.8
Worked out well but I had to go in and have the quoted price honoredPros:Convenience of pick up in Philly's Center City & drop off at airport. Low price! Kia compact was nimble and responsive.Cons:At pick-up they printed the right price on the contract. At drop off, the price they printed on the receipt was more than quadruple the quoted price. I had to go in to the counter and wait in line and it took three agents to fix the problem and honor the original quote. If I had not had the time to wait in line and if the agents hadn't been as competent and dedicated, I would have been very, very upset with the quadrupling of the price. And keep in mind that my original reservation was for a midsize at the same low price. I agreed to a compact because it was the only one ready and clean at pick up. So I would have paid more for less. I suspect the software used in the machines that print your receipt on the return lot is not in sync with the software that manages the agreements with kayak. Also interesting that my final receipt was from Budget, although the reservation and office were Avis.Reviewed 14 May 2018
review fromkayak
7.2
Expensive one way - bait and switchCons:$360 for a one day rental. Because of high demand from a recent storm and flight cancellations, I had to pay this high rate. I paid for a premium car. When I got there there wasn't any but stayed I could do an SUV for $32 more. In this scenario, National would give you that upgrade at no additional cost. I felt I didn't have a choice in this case. Then to get a car that already has 20,000 miles on it was a bit disappointing, felt like she led me to an older car because it was a one way rental.Reviewed 9 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
Pros:Staff was friendly. However, did not make clear that there was no key drop box for late night drop off. This location is in a hotel. Hard to imagine why this would be the case. Very inconvenient return.Cons:Better clarification on return. Was offered location 20 miles away for late night key return.Reviewed 2 Sep 2020
review fromkayak
2.0
Uncompassionate.Pros:NothingCons:I didn’t have my credit card with me, only my debit card so they wouldn’t rent to me. I was stranded. I was trying to visit my elderly parents who aren’t able I drive all the way to the airport to pick me up. The man at the counter wouldn’t allow me to use their card over the phone or offer any suggestions. I had to take the bus back to the airport and ended up taking 2 trains and a bus to get to my parents. I was a bit distraught at the counter and would have appreciated him working with me to come up with a solution. He cared absolutely nothing for my predicament.Reviewed 23 Jul 2018
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:NothingReviewed 16 Mar 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:The location of pick up was closedReviewed 4 May 2020
review fromkayak
10.0
Cons:Car had a bit of an odor that wasn’t initially evident, just had it for a day and they were receptive to my comment upon return.Reviewed 24 Feb 2021
review fromkayak
2.0
Cons:They over charged me and after multiple calls to customer service, did not fix the issue.Reviewed 3 Mar 2021
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Philadelphia?

1 Arrivals Road, Avis car hires

Address

1 Arrivals Road

Hours

Monday00:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 215 492 0900

Address

2951 Market Street

Hours

Monday09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday09:00 - 17:00
Thursday09:00 - 17:00
Friday09:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 386 2332

Address

201 South Columbus Boulevard

Hours

Monday08:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 13:00
Wednesday08:00 - 13:00
Thursday08:00 - 13:00
Friday08:00 - 13:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 629 1333

Address

10600 Roosevelt Boulevard

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 969 7470

Address

1324 Arch Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 751 2737

Address

201 North 17th Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 13:00
Tuesday08:00 - 13:00
Wednesday08:00 - 13:00
Thursday08:00 - 13:00
Friday08:00 - 13:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 814 9078

Address

200 South Broad Street

Hours

Monday07:00 - 18:00
Tuesday07:00 - 18:00
Wednesday07:00 - 18:00
Thursday07:00 - 18:00
Friday07:00 - 18:00
Saturday08:00 - 13:00
Sunday08:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 215 735 7193

Address

1200 Market Street

Hours

Monday07:30 - 18:30
Tuesday07:30 - 18:30
Wednesday07:30 - 18:30
Thursday07:30 - 18:30
Friday07:30 - 18:30
Saturday08:30 - 12:30
Sunday08:30 - 12:30

Phone

+1 215 751 2737

Good to know

Most popular location

1 Arrivals Road

Most popular car type

Luxury

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Philadelphia

  • Luxury (Audi A4 or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Philadelphia.

  • Avis has 8 car hire locations in Philadelphia. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes