Book Avis hire cars in Dublin

Dublin, Ireland
26 Sep — 3 Oct
Dublin, Ireland
Sun 26-9
Noon
Sun 3-10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in Dublin

Overall rating5.7 OkayBased on 72 reviews
Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
6.1
Overall
5.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
5.3
Value for money
5.1

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
3
2
2
2
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.8
Poor value and unexpected shuttlePros:Car was clean and in good condition. Staff were friendly.Cons:Specifically chose rental on the basis that on the Kayak website the rental (via Cartrawler) was listed as pick up in airport. When I went to collect the car, it was a shuttle away. I'd rented to attend a close family bereavement - I ended up overruning my rental and called Avis to let them know. The cost for overruning by 3 days was more than double the cost of the original (4 day) rental.Reviewed 31 Jan 2018
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Price very good, car goodCons:Very minor point - advertised as being on airport but needed to get a bus to car hire office (albeit a very short journey). Otherwise everything excellentReviewed 24 Apr 2016
review fromkayak
6.4
Pre-auth credit cardPros:PriceCons:The pre-authorisation remains on card for 5 weeks. This shall be reduced as we might have to use the card and the limit is gone.Reviewed 26 Mar 2017
review fromkayak
4.8
Watch out for the service desk repsCons:We arrived in Dublin at 5:20 AM on a flight from Boston. We hadn't slept in 18 hours and when we went to pick up our car that I had booked for less than $200 for 11 days, we received that high pressure treatment to purchase additional insurance for 35 euros/day. I had heard that this sometimes happens and had checked with my Citibank credit card to see what my rental car benefits were. It seemed that we should be covered, but the women at the desk assured me that rental cars in Ireland and several other counties would not be included in out coverage through the credit card or our insurance back home. So we caved and signed up for the insurance. Later on I reread that coverage on the credit card and knew we had been duped. I sent an email to Avis customer service and was advised to contact a particular person with Avis Ireland. That was almost two weeks ago and I've had no response.Reviewed 12 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
4.0
Unpleasant staffPros:Car was fineCons:Total lack of customer service. No interest or assistance on check-in; aggressive attitude towards check-out looking for opportunities to charge the excess.Reviewed 22 Jun 2018
review fromkayak
2.0
DisappointingPros:Quick pick up Quick and easy drop off with helpful staffCons:We weren't given information on the motorway toll when we picked up the car, as we'd previously rented from another company where it was included we presumed it was the same with Avis. It was only when we returned the car we saw the information, why haven't they got the same information in the office where we picked up the car? The car was also not the one we expected, the Nissan Juke would have been preferable to the Opal Astra we were givenReviewed 3 Jan 2017
review fromkayak
5.6
Not very satisfied, but the car worked.Pros:Car worked. Did not smell of smoke.Cons:We were not told in advance to expect to pay insurance of $40/day on top of our rental fees because we had US insurance. Also, we were told our car came equipped with automatic toll tags. The toll tags did not work even though we told the toll operator that our rental car company said they did. The windshield wipers on the car were barely functioning, leaving large streaks where they did pick up water and large clusters of droplets where the windshield wipers were worn and couldn't pass over. This was highly problematic given that it was raining the majority of our trip.Reviewed 24 Mar 2017
review fromkayak
3.2
Super Collision Damage Windscreen Cost Hundreds of EUROS More!Cons:When we arrived to pick up our car in Dublin, we were given a larger car than we had ordered. We were traveling & visiting small coastline towns, and we knew the roads would be very narrow and a challenge and wanted the smaller car requested. More importantly, the documents emailed to us, showed the total cost would be $182.75 US Dollars, plus 18.75 EUR per day for Super SCDW, Class D which we wanted to purchase at check-in. Instead, the Super CDW cost over 47.00 EUR per day! Avis did NOT honor the documents stating the cheaper quoted price. We ended up paying HUNDREDS of EUROS more. It was bait and switch!Reviewed 1 Nov 2017
review fromkayak
2.4
Beware of the fine printPros:The car had no mechanical problems and the gps worked.Cons:Avis had a good price at kayak and said the rental counter was at the airport terminal. However, the rental site required a shuttle ride. There was over an hour wait at the counter as the agents worked hard to bully everyone into taking the optional insurance. They were providing misinformation about credit card and personal insurance and then, if you were able to withstand the hard sell and misinformation, they informed us there would be a 30 euro charge to DECLINE the insurance. We had never heard of such a thing but were now far from the airport and had few options. Furthermore upon declining the insurance they required a 5000 euro charge hold on my credit card in order to complete the rental agreement. When we finally got to the car it smelled of marijuana. All in all a very unpleasant, deceptive experience reeking of extortion.Reviewed 5 Oct 2016
review fromkayak
4.0
Bait and switchPros:The original price.Cons:I felt that the agreed upon price was completely ignored. The agent ride to up charge me multiple rimes and tried to charge me an extra day. I felt that I was being hustled. The signage at the drop-off in Cork was inadequate and unclear as to where to drop off the key. I will switch to another rental car company in the future!Reviewed 31 Mar 2016
review fromkayak
7.2
Extremely friendly and no hasslesPros:The gentleman assisting us was very friendly and didn't give us any hassles. I was mentally prepared for debates or claims of scratches, dings, etc, but there were none. He even went back in our record, saw we had been incorrectly charged for the hold, and immediately reversed it without us being able to know ourselves. This location worked out so well for us, we'd recommend using it highly.Reviewed 7 Oct 2017
review fromkayak
4.4
Great car, sub-par insurance and pick-upPros:Great car, nice and clean. Easy online reservation process.Cons:Avis Dublin told us that no American insurance covered their cars, so we were forced to buy the Avis coverage. Upon returning home we learned that was not the case. Also, the shuttle from the airport to the car park was a 35 minute wait, when sold as 'every 5 minutes.' Which was very disappointing.Reviewed 1 Dec 2015
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in Dublin?

38 Old Kilmainham Rd, Avis car hires

Address

38 Old Kilmainham Rd

Hours

Monday10:00 - 16:00
Tuesday10:00 - 16:00
Wednesday10:00 - 16:00
Thursday10:00 - 16:00
Friday10:00 - 16:00
Saturday10:00 - 16:00
Sunday10:00 - 16:00

Address

Arrivals Hall

Hours

Monday00:00 - Invalid date05:00 - 23:59
Tuesday00:00 - Invalid date05:00 - 23:59
Wednesday00:00 - Invalid date05:00 - 23:59
Thursday00:00 - Invalid date05:00 - 23:59
Friday00:00 - Invalid date05:00 - 23:59
Saturday00:00 - Invalid date05:00 - 23:59
Sunday00:00 - Invalid date05:00 - 23:59

Address

149 Lower Drumcondra Road

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 18:00

Phone

+353 1 605 7572

Address

39 Old Kilmainham Rd

Hours

Monday09:00 - 18:00
Tuesday09:00 - 18:00
Wednesday09:00 - 18:00
Thursday09:00 - 18:00
Friday09:00 - 18:00
Saturday09:00 - 18:00
Sunday09:00 - 18:00

Good to know

Most popular location

Arrivals Hall

Most popular car type

Economy

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in Dublin

  • Economy (Ford Fiesta or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in Dublin.

  • Avis has 4 car hire locations in Dublin. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes