Book Avis hire cars in San Jose

San Jose, CA, United States
4 Oct — 11 Oct
San Jose, CA, United States
Mon 4-10
Noon
Mon 11-10
Noon
Driver's age:

Pros

" and friendly."(in 779 reviews)
"Very easy off."(in 882 reviews)
"And friendly staff."(in 213 reviews)

Cons

" like cigarette smoke!"(in 116 reviews)
"Clerk said no ."(in 1799 reviews)
" was the worst."(in 163 reviews)

Reviews for Avis in San Jose

Overall rating6.6 GoodBased on 30 reviews
Cleanliness
6.8
Comfort
6.8
Overall
6.4
Pick-up/Drop-off
6.4
Value for money
6.6

Recent reviews

Traveller rating
6
2
3
0
0
Find reviews that mention:
4.0
Car ProblemsPros:The car was cleanCons:-When I picked up the car the receptionist did not take me to the car nor did we do an inspection before I took off -After 30 minutes of driving the engine light went on - I had a long drive to San Diego from San Jose so this made me nervous the whole way -I had to fill the gas tank twice during the trip. Usually it only takes me once tank to get from San Jose to San Diego -When I arrived in San Diego it was noted that both the tail lights were not working and only the brake lights did (Really glad I did not get into an accident or pulled over since I was driving late at night) -When I dropped off the car I noted these issues to the attendant and all he did was notify me that they will not rent this car out to others which is not exactly what I wanted to hearReviewed 28 Nov 2017
review fromkayak
8.4
Cons:The reservation was messed up on line so Avis had me picking up and returning in San Jose even though my on line request showed return to MRY ( Monterey). When I tried to correct by phone I was disconnected or hung up on 4 times, ultimately reached some foreign person and was told there was nothing to be done except pay an unreasonable fee to rent at SJC airport. The office I went to on Tully Road in South San Jose by bus, light rail and another bus was excellent. The Avis employee was good. Avis and their out of country phone support is a typical big corporate looser. JAEReviewed 19 Oct 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:professional staff. very efficient checkin and return process. nice car in good shape and very clean. everything that I could ask for worked very wellReviewed 24 Aug 2020
review fromkayak
6.4
Cons:The car needs a good washReviewed 5 Jul 2020
review fromkayak
4.0
Pros:Staff was inept and inexperienced to handle a simple situation. We liked the car model.Cons:The car was not cleaned at all. Surprising they rented out without cleaning and sanitizing in COVID times. After bringing this issue to the agent, he said he could not help it. I was mad but had no option but to take it. Myself and two of my family members cleaned the car inside out for two hours before starting the trip. Horrible experience. Won’t rent from Avis again.Reviewed 20 Apr 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Staff was super friendly and car was very clean. Easy pickup and dropoffCons:wish they had after-hours drop-offReviewed 15 Jun 2021
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:EverythingCons:NothingReviewed 5 Jun 2021
review fromkayak
9.6
Pros:Staff was great, price was goodReviewed 8 Jul 2019
review fromkayak
10.0
Very friendly staff!Pros:Everyone was super friendly from pick up to drop off. The car was very nice and drove quite nice. Will definitely be doing business with Avis again!Reviewed 23 Apr 2017
review fromkayak
7.2
A one-hour pickup is just too longCons:The line was about 5 deep with two agents and it still took an hour to get the car.Reviewed 5 Jul 2017
review fromkayak
10.0
Pros:Very friendly and niceReviewed 30 Jul 2016
review fromkayak
6.0
Lowest price is not always the lowestPros:price was very cheap, but location was so far from airport it cost more than taking an UberCons:location, readiness of car, customer supportReviewed 5 May 2017
review fromkayak

Where can I find Avis hire cars in San Jose?

1659 Airport Boulevard Ste 2, Avis car hires

Address

1659 Airport Boulevard Ste 2

Hours

Monday06:00 - 23:59
Tuesday06:00 - 23:59
Wednesday06:00 - 23:59
Thursday06:00 - 23:59
Friday06:00 - 23:59
Saturday06:00 - 23:59
Sunday06:00 - 23:59

Phone

+1 408 993 2224

Address

3680 Stevens Creek Blvd, Ste B

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 669 223 0424

Address

2180 Tully Road

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00

Phone

+1 408 809 0502

Address

1350 N 1st Street

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 669 223 1570

Address

2200 Eastridge Loop Ste 1104

Hours

Monday08:00 - 17:00
Tuesday08:00 - 17:00
Wednesday08:00 - 17:00
Thursday08:00 - 17:00
Friday08:00 - 17:00
Saturday08:00 - 17:00
Sunday09:00 - 13:00

Phone

+1 669 255 4088

Good to know

Most popular location

1659 Airport Boulevard Ste 2

Most popular car type

Intermediate

Average price

S$ 257/day

Good deal

S$ 77/day

Top tips for hiring a car from Avis in San Jose

  • 25% of our users found a car hire from Avis in San Jose for S$ 77 or less
  • Intermediate car hires from Avis in San Jose are around 7% cheaper than other car types, on average

FAQs about hiring a car from Avis in San Jose

  • On average a car hire from Avis in San Jose costs S$ 257 per day.

  • Intermediate (Ford Escape or similar) is the most frequently booked car hire type from Avis in San Jose.

  • Avis has 5 car hire locations in San Jose. Take a look at our Avis hire location map to find the best car hires near you.

  • Yes

  • Yes